Spreadsheet Wednesday: Packing Lists

Edit: Fixed the link to the spreadsheet.  Sorry folks.

I meant to share this before we went on vacation, but I was too busy using this spreadsheet at the time. :D  This spreadsheet is one of the cases where a little effort to design it well once will save a lot of time in the future.  (As opposed to some of my other spreadsheets, which I spend hours making and never use . . .)

Click to view and download a copy

Yes, as the title so brilliantly implies, these are my packing lists.  I’ve only got parent, baby, and toddler lists right now, but I’m sure I’ll add child and teen lists as our family gets older.

I love this spreadsheet because I don’t have to even think about what to pack for a trip anymore.  I print out lists for everyone on packing day, tape them to their door, cross things off as I go, and don’t take them down until everything is packed and in the car.  It takes all the “did I forget to pack black socks?” out of vacationing.

Changing the numbers in the boxes labeled “# Days Total” and “# of Days (w/Laundry)” (meaning days in between doing laundry) will change the numbers on the items of clothing you need to bring, and amounts of food and diapers for the kids.  You may need to tinker around with the formulas to get it to your personal ratio of re-wearings versus laundry done.

I’ve also sorted the packing list by categories so I don’t need separate packing lists for summer and winter or if I’m going to exercise on the trip or not.  Also useful for packing like items in similar places.

Okay, maybe I should stop drooling over my spreadsheet.  See you later.

Leave a comment

Filed under Spreadsheet Wednesday, Travel

Leave a Reply

