Saturday Links – Dealing with No and New Painting Ideas

Theory Links

What To Do When Toddlers Say No – I’ve had good success with this method of offering choices.  Another tip that goes hand in hand with this is don’t ask a question with a wrong answer.  (ie “Do you want to go now?” (NO!) should be “Do you want to walk to the car or should I carry you?”)  I enjoyed an older, related post on toddler discipline as well, except that I do believe time out can be a connected, rather than arbitrary, punishment.  But more on that another time.

How to Be a Professional (Mom) – I loved this post on SimpleMom this week.  The more I think of motherhood as an actual occupation, the more the idea works for me.

Activity Links

Tall Painting, Tall Town – I’d have to be really brave and put together to try this, but it looks like fun.

Slide Drawing – As in playground, not old folks’ pictures.  This is more my style.  I’ll probably be hitting up the local elementary school playground sometime to do it.

Painting with Q-tips – Simple and effective.  And cheap!

6 Fun Beach Ball Games for Preschoolers – Some are overcomplicated for Monkey, but who doesn’t need more ball play ideas.

Number Playdough Mats – Monkey was crazy for these, since he’s not much into creating actual objects yet.  I predict the alphabet ones will hit our table soon.

3 Comments

Filed under Discipline, Parental Motivators, Preschooler (3 yrs - 5 yrs), Saturday Five, Toddler (18 mos - 3 yrs)

3 responses to “Saturday Links – Dealing with No and New Painting Ideas

  1. janetlansbury

    Liz, thank you so much for including my post about toddlers saying NO. You have a wonderful assortment of articles here, so I’m honored, and glad you’ve found *choices* helpful. I’m enjoying the sensibility of this blog…

  2. Thanks so much for featuring our beach ball games!

    :-) Bethe @HSBS_Play

  3. Anytime guys! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

