Quick Poll for my Mormon Readership/Friends

So some of you have probably heard from me about my enthusiasm for the way our family studies the scriptures with our very young children (5, 3, 1). I’m so excited that I’m in the process of writing a little ebook curriculum with our reading schedules in it.

The problem I have in writing this book is that I don’t know much about the experience of other families in studying the scriptures with young children. So I’m calling upon all the Mormons I know to do a little informal research study for me. If you currently have (or had in the past) young children (say, under age 6), could you answer these questions for me in the comments? (Or via email if you’d rather be private.)

  1. When did you start reading the scriptures with you first child? When did you require subsequent children to be present at family scripture study?
  2. What did you read for scripture study with young children? Did you use the LDS Scripture Stories manuals? The actual scriptures? Other scripture story books?
  3. Did you do any other studying activities (ie memorizing, journaling, etc.) on a regular basis?
  4. How consistent were/are you at reading with your children? What barriers exist to being more consistent?
  5. Any other comments, questions, problems related to studying scriptures with young children would be awesome.

Thanks in advance for your input on my quirky little project.

4 Comments

Filed under Baby (9 - 18 mos), Early Elementary (6-9), Mormon Parenting Hacks, Preschooler (3 yrs - 5 yrs), Toddler (18 mos - 3 yrs)

4 responses to “Quick Poll for my Mormon Readership/Friends

  1. 1. I think I started reading with her in a structured manner when she was 6.
    2. We read the actual scriptures.
    3. When we first started out, I read and she drew her interpretation of what I was reading. Then, we talked about what she drew (or stopped and talked about what she drew). First we used a white board, but then I loved her drawings so much we got her a blank book. That book of her scripture drawings is one of my treasures!
    4. We went through phases of being consistent. Our biggest barrier was every time schedules changed–ie, from school year to summer, then back from summer to school year. We always had to spend a lot of effort to find the way that would work after a transition. I worked–so we had multiple schedules to juggle. When she was older, we made a rule scriptures before TV. That worked at that time.
    5. Kids are smart, insightful, and inspired. Listen to and encourage their comments.
    Kate @ BJJ, Law, and Living

  2. When did you start reading the scriptures with you first child?
    We started when she was 2 years old.

    When did you require subsequent children to be present at family scripture study?
    When they were 18 months old.

    What did you read for scripture study with young children?
    The actual scriptures. We also use the “Illustrated Stories from the BoM” set and “Illustrated Book of Mormon Stories.” Occasionally we use the illustrated readers from the church. But mostly the actual scriptures.

    Did you do any other studying activities (ie memorizing, journaling, etc.) on a regular basis?
    They start memorizing at 4 years old (scriptures and AoF)

    How consistent were/are you at reading with your children? What barriers exist to being more consistent?
    Very consistent. Barriers are when our routine gets messed up. Otherwise, we are pretty good about it.

  3. Kristen

    1.Two – actual scriptures. she looked at pictures in the reader (which she went and got herself.) while I read. similar ages for the other kids – with adaptations made as necessary based upon the child.
    2.we read from the actual scriptures and also read stories from the now out of print scripture stories for LDS children. I don’t like the readers becasue I find the ‘captions’ very stilting and horribly incomplete. for my aspie, I was very prayerful about how to do scriptures with him and used lots of story books before I was able to introduce the actual scriptures when he was about 8 1/2. he’s made a lot of progress in this area.
    3.no
    4.everday. mostly. my aspie had his own barriers.
    5.kids have their own personalities, and we need to take those into account and be flexible with a method that will work for particular children.

Leave a Reply

